Prosciutto & Mushroom Stuffed Polbano Peppers

Cheese Stuffed Poblano Peppers With Prosciutto and Mushroom

Another night in the kitchen with no plan whatsoever meant another freestyle meal.  With nothing planned and not much left in the fridge, I decided to try my hand at stuffing Poblano Peppers, something I had seen on TV.

I grabbed some random items out of the fridge, jammed them in peppers and in a about 10 minutes I had myself some cheese stuffed poblano peppers with prosciutto & mushroom. Here’s how it all came together.


PREPARING THE PEPPERS

Before today, I had never seen a Poblano Pepper in person. They are these big green peppers that sort of look like mutant jalapeños. After some quick Google work I saw how easy it was to prepare.

All you have to do is cut them in half (lengthwise) and then remove the stem and seeds. Bam! I think removing the seeds makes them less spicy, I may want to leave them in next time? Now you’ve got a perfect vessel to pack with toppings (Next time I may try to just remove the top and actually stuff the whole pepper).

Halved and seeded Poblano Peppers

Halved and seeded Poblano Peppers


TOPPINGS & SEASONING

I added the following to the pepper halves and then sprayed them down with PAM butter cooking spray and seasoned with salt & pepper.

  • Chopped mushrooms
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Prosciutto
  • Fresh Garlic
Stuffed Poblano Peppers

Stuffing/loading the Poblano Peppers before cooking


Cooking The Peppers

I wasn’t exactly sure what to do here.  I basically just baked it all together for about 10 minutes or so at 500 degrees. Next time I may cook the peppers alone first, then load them and cook one more time so the peppers get 2x as long as the toppings. The results were pretty delicious, but crisper peppers might lead to a better taste & feel. I think you actually want the peppers to be charred, and not as green.

Prosciutto & Mushroom Stuffed Polbano Peppers

The cooked Poblano Peppers


After about 10 minutes or so in the oven, when the peppers were starting to turn a little brown, I took them out of the oven and topped them with some random green onions I was trying to get rid of. I then paired them with some burger sliders for a cool little appetizer dish.

Stuffed poblano pepper and slider

Stuffed Poblano Peppers with mini sliders

Overall I enjoyed this snack a lot. I have a few things I will do next time differently. I def want to throw in some meat next time and more cheese. But I did  learn you can use these peppers as a vessel for toppings to create a great snack. Be creative bros!

2 thoughts on “Cheese Stuffed Poblano Peppers With Prosciutto and Mushroom

Leave a comment