Prosciutto Wrapped Parmesan Bison Burger – Happy Bison Parmesan Day!

This is the second of a 3 part series called “Bison Parmesan Day”, posts about that time I was too lazy to go to the store so I made breakfast lunch and dinner from 2 of the only ingredients I had in the fridge; ground bison meat and parmesan cheese. It may seem like a weird combination, I know, but actually, well actually it was a weird combination.

After a weird ass breakfast, it was time for a weird ass lunch. One of the first things I think of when it comes to some ground Bison is a Bison burger. So I decided to create this very simple dish, and I totally ruined everything…

Prosciutto-Wraped Parmesan Bison Burger

Prosciutto-Wraped Parmesan Bison Burger

The salt…my god the salt…

One of the things I have learned from watching cooking shows all day long is that you want to balance out flavors. If you have something sweet, you want to counter with sour, etc. Well with this dish I threw that right out the window. I took something salty, added some more saltiness, added an additional salty item and so on and so forth until my entire meal tasted like I was drinking directly out of a salt shaker.

In theory this meal could have been fairly delicious but I did something that was really really really stupid. I seasoned the bison burger patty with … seasoned salt.  I seasoned it with the seasoned salt not like it was salt, but like it was a dry rub. Coated every square inch of the meat with it.

The salty taste wasn’t helped by adding super salty prosciutto (why do I love wrapping burgers with this) and then the saltiest cheese ever, Parmesan. Naturally I decided to throw in a side of Funyuns, because…dumbness. The combination of everything created a salt explosion that almost dried my entire body out. I basically ate the ocean.

I really needed to get things back on track for dinner.

2 thoughts on “Prosciutto Wrapped Parmesan Bison Burger – Happy Bison Parmesan Day!

Leave a comment